Endorse the Proposal

We need your help to ensure the Detroit Institute of Arts can continue to offer benefits for residents of Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties. Add your name to the growing list of supporters endorsing the DIA millage renewal proposal.

“The Detroit Institute of Arts is a true asset to Macomb County, to Michigan and our region. I support the DIA’s millage renewal because the museum provides an invaluable cultural experience for Macomb County families, seniors, students and teachers.”

Candice Miller, Macomb County Public Works Commissioner

“The DIA is an education leader, providing free field trips and transportation to students across the city, which gives Detroit children access to rich and rewarding experiences that can’t be found elsewhere. Renewing the DIA millage is absolutely critical to ensuring children in our community continue to have access to this cultural gem, which is why I support the DIA and the millage renewal 100 percent.”

Mayor Mike Duggan, City of Detroit

“Great regions invest in the quality of the life of their residents. Thanks to this millage, the DIA provides Wayne County residents—including students and seniors—with free admission as well as free bus transportation for school groups. These programs ensure this world-renowned cultural asset will remain accessible and welcoming to all of our residents. To me, that’s money well spent.”

Wayne County Executive Warren C. Evans

“The DIA is a one-of-a-kind cultural institution providing unique access to culture and history to residents in Oakland County. They have done an excellent job bringing artwork to Oakland County and facilitating more visits to the museum. I encourage you to vote YES for the DIA millage renewal to ensure students, families and seniors can continue to enjoy a world class museum.”

Oakland County Executive David Coulter

“The DIA millage has benefitted Macomb County residents by providing free admission for families and free K-12 field trips with transportation. To continue providing these world-class services, please vote yes on the DIA renewal on March 10.”

Mark Hackel, Macomb County Executive

“The DIA has been a long-standing gem in our community. The programs for our Seniors and children have proven to be an excellent mechanism to further expose art to those who may not otherwise have that opportunity.”

Alisha Bell, chair of the Wayne County Commission

“The DIA has been a great partner with Macomb residents who receive free general admission, both school and senior field trips with transportation and public art projects that the museum brings to local communities. For an average of $15 per year, this millage offers a solid return on a taxpayer’s investment.”

Bob Smith, chairman of the Macomb County Board of Commissioners

“The DIA has been a leader in education for Oakland County students who receive free field trips and transportation to the museum. Over 20,000 Oakland students experience a world class museum in their own backyard each year.”

Dave Woodward, chairman of the Oakland County Board of Commissioners

Endorse the Proposal

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Candice Miller, Macomb County Public Works Commissioner
Macomb County Democratic Party
14th Congressional District
Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence, 14th District
Mike Duggan, Mayor, City of Detroit
Mark Hackel, County Executive, Macomb County
Warren Evans, County Executive, Wayne County
David Coulter, County Executive, Oakland County
Liza Parkinson, President, Utica Education Association
Sen. Paul Wojno, Michigan Senate, 9th District
Dr. Dee Dee Coleman, Past President, COBPDV
Dr. Oscar King III, Northwest Unity Church
Father Norman Thomas Sacred Heart
Rev. Kenneth Flowers, Greater New Mt. Moriah
Bishop Horace Sheffield, Detroit Ecumenicial Ministers Alliance
Rev. V. Lonnie Peek, Greater Christ
Pastor Ron Griffin, Rose of Sharon
Pastor Marcus Ways, Christian Gospel Center
Dr. Douglas Jones, Oakland County Ministerial Fellowship
Bishop William Murphy New Mt. Moriah
Pastor Derrick McDonald, Prospect MBC
Pastor Will Parker, New Springfield MBC
Rev. Nathan Waters, Community Organizer
Pastor Steven Bland, President, Council of Baptist Pastors Detroit & Vicinity
Benny Napoleon, Wayne County Sheriff
Eric Sabree, Wayne County Treasurer
Gene Lovell, President & CEO, First State Bank
Detroit Regional Chamber
Operating Engineers 324

Dr. Judith Pritchett, Member, Michigan State Board of Education
Robert Mijac, Macomb County Commissioner, 5th District
Carolyn Bellinson, President, Hebrew Free Loans and Brilliant Detroit Founder
Richard Cory, Bruce Township Supervisor
Carl Levin, Former U.S. Senator
Sander M. Levin, Former Congressman
David Bonior, Former Congressman
Theresa Jarratt, Mount Clemens School Board
Ed Bruley, Mount Clemens School Board
Christina Escalante, Mount Clemens School Board
Jeanine Walker, Mount Clemens School Board
Jason Monk, Mount Clemens School Board
Ken Pearl, Clinton Twp. Trustee
Judy Hartwell, Former Roseville School Board Member
Robert Leonetti, Macomb County Commissioner
Victoria Klinefelt, Macomb County Commissioner
Andy Levin, Congressman
North Macomb Democratic Committee
MEA NEA Local 1
Utica Education Association
Warren Education Association
Marv Sauger, Macomb County Commissioner
Bob Smith, Chair, Macomb County Board of Commissioners
James Carabelli, Vice Chair, Macomb County Board of Commissioners
Rep. Bill Sowerby, U.S. Representative, District 31
Detroit Regional Chamber

Rep. Robert Wittenberg State Rep., 27th District
Diane Banks, Executive Director, Advancing Macomb
Jennifer Callans, PhD, Chair, Macomb County Arts Authority
Susan Mosey, President, Midtown Detroit Inc.
Public Arts Commission
Bettye Misuraca, Chair, Wayne County Arts Authority
Alex Garza, State Rep., District 12
Bob Smith, Chair, Macomb County Board of Commissioners
Dave Woodward, Chair, Oakland County Board of Commissioners
Alisha Bell, Chair, Wayne County Board of Commissioners
Mary Kramer, Group Publisher, Crain Communications
Sen. Erika Geiss, Michigan Senate, 6th District
Rep. Kathy Crawford, Michigan Rep, 38th District
United Auto Workers, Rory Gamble, Pres, rgamble@uaw.net
Kym Worthy, Wayne County Prosecutor
Paul Gieleghem, Clinton Township Treasurer
Jennifer Nowaczk-Miller, Macomb Art Authority
Deidra Waterman, Mayor of Pontiac
Jewel Ware, Wayne County Commissioner
Martha Scott, Wayne County Commissioner
James R. Fouts, Mayor, City of Warren
Dr. Curtis Ivery
Dr. Gus Demas, Romeo Community Schools Board of Education
Melissa Daub, Wayne County Commissioner, 10th District
Sharon Bartl, Lake Shore Public School Board of Education
Cardi DeMonaco Jr, Eastpointe City Council

Tim Killeen, Wayne County Commissioner, 1st District
Laura Kropp, Mayor, City of Mount Clemens
Rashidah Hammond, Mount Clemens City Commissioner
Glenn Voorhess, Mount Clemens City Commissioner
Robert Cannon, Clinton Township Supervisor
Jenifer Joie West, Clinton Township Trustee
Mike Keys, Clinton Township Trustee
John Dupray, Mayor, City of New Baltimore
Marcella Shinska, Clerk, City of New Baltimore
Florence Hayman, New Baltimore City Council
Jacob Dittrich, New Baltimore City Council
Warren Area Democratic Club
Andy Meisner, Oakland County Treasurer
Lorie Barnwel, City of Warren Treasurer
Patrick Green, President, Mayor Pro Tem, Warren City Council
Mari Manoogian, State Representative, 40th District
Stacey Kubbe, Clintondale School Board
Ruth Green, Roseville Community Schools
Joseph DeFelice, Roseville Community Schools
Kevin Switanowski, Roseville Community Schools
Theresa Genest Roseville Community Schools
Michael Anderson, Roseville Community Schools
Alfredo Francesconi, Roseville Community Schools
Matthew McCartney, Roseville Community Schools
Corktown Business Association
Jim Andriotakis, President, Hellenic Museum of Michigan
Wayne State University Student Senate

Help us ensure the DIA can continue to serve Macomb, Oakland and Wayne county residents